Corby's Orbit

Corby's Orbit
Listening in All the High Places illustration by John Kricfalusi

Thursday, September 14, 2017

Polaris Prize 2017 Short List Posters Revealed, Drake Hotel Pop Up Sale and Panel Announced

 · BY 
The 2017 Polaris Short List posters.
The 2017 Polaris Short List posters.
The Polaris Music Prize, presented by CBC Music and produced by Blue Ant Media, today announced the 10 posters artists for the 2017 Short List.
The 2017 Short List Poster Artists:
A Tribe Called Red – We Are The Halluci Nation by Jeff Blackburn
Leonard Cohen – You Want It Darker by Yarek Waszul
Gord Downie – Secret Path by Wenting Li
Feist – Pleasure by Cristian Fowlie
Lisa LeBlanc – Why You Wanna Leave, Runaway Queen? by Alexander MacAskill
Lido Pimienta – La Papessa by Ohara Hale
Tanya Tagaq – Retribution by Benoit Tardif
Leif Vollebekk – Twin Solitude by Dalbert Vilarino
Weaves – Weaves by Jeremy Bruneel
Each poster is a limited edition silk-screen produced specifically to represent an album nominated for the 2017 Short List (see large versions of the posters list below). The poster artists were selected by Polaris and the Office of Gilbert Li and printed by Kid Icarus in Toronto. The Polaris Posters are organized with support from the Canada Council for the Arts.
To launch this new series of artwork, we’ve also announced a special Polaris Poster pop-up sale event taking place Saturday, September 16, 3-5 p.m., at the The Drake Hotel Underground in Toronto. This Polaris Gala warm-up event will be the first opportunity for people to purchase the 2017 Polaris Posters. Cost for these limited posters will be $40 + HST.
Poster artists Wenting Li, Dalbert Vilariano, Jeff Blackburn and Jeremy Bruneel will be on hand to take part in a special Q&A panel hosted by Polaris founder Steve Jordan.
The 2017 Polaris Short List posters will be available for online purchase on the morning of Monday, September 18. A limited amount will also be available for purchase that same night at the Polaris Gala, taking place at The Carlu in Toronto.
Confirmed performers at the Polaris Gala include Tanya Tagaq, Leif Vollebekk, Lido Pimienta, Weaves and Lisa Leblanc. A limited number of general admission tickets are still available via Ticketmaster.

No comments:

Post a Comment