Corby's Orbit

Corby's Orbit
Listening in All the High Places illustration by John Kricfalusi

Wednesday, September 21, 2016

Canadian Folk Music Awards Reveal 2016 Nominees

Thank You Gregory Adams @ Exclaim!@#$%

Young Performer of the Year:

Jake Vance - Eden
Jessica Wedden Fiddling is My Passion
Chanelle Albert - How Beautiful We Are
Nick Earle and Joe Coffin - Live at the Citadel House
Keltie Monaghan Someone Tell Her

New/Emerging Artist of the Year:

Ben Caplan Birds With Broken Wings
Hillsburn - In the Battle Years
Evening Hymns - Quiet Energies
Old Whiskey Road Under The Neon Lights
The Small Glories - Wondrous Traveler

The Oliver Schroer Pushing The Boundaries Award:

Ten Strings And A Goat Skin Auprès du Poêle
Ozere - Finding Anyplace
Kaia Kater Nine Pin
Jim Bryson Somewhere We Will Find Our Place
Whitehorse - The Northern South Vol. 1

English Songwriter(s) of the Year

Royal Wood Ghost Light
Donovan Woods Hard Settle, Ain't Troubled
The Strumbellas - Hope
Danny Michel - Matadora
The Small Glories (Songwriters: Cara Luft, JD Edwards) - Wondrous Traveler

French Songwriter(s) of the Year:

Les soeurs Boulay - 4488 de l'Amour
Richard Séguin - Les horizons nouveaux
Safia Nolin - Limoilou
Philippe Brach Portraits de famine
Sept jours en mai - Songwriters: Mara Tremblay, Michel Rivard, Luc De Larochellière, Éric Goulet, Gilles Bélanger, MountainDaisies (Ariane Ouellet, Carl Prévost) - Sept jours en mai

Aboriginal Songwriter(s) of the Year:

Nadia Gaudet & Jason Burnstick - Dream Big, Little One * Fais de beaux rêves, petit ange
William Prince - Earthly Days
Digawolf - Great Northern Man 
Amanda Rheaume - Holding Patterns
Twin Flames Jaaji and Chelsey June

World Group of the Year:

Tio Chorinho - Chora Brazil
Nomadica - Dance of the Infidels
Lenka Lichtenberg & Fray - Live in America
Beppe Gambetta & Tony McManus - Round Trip
Sultans of String - Subcontinental Drift

World Solo Artist of the Year:  

Jocelyn Pettit Caravan
Kattam - De Tombouctou à Bombay
Élage Diouf Melokáane
Karim Saada Mon frère
Willy Rios - Para ti

Traditional Album of the Year:

Auprès du Poêle by Ten Strings And A Goat Skin
Coffee Creek by The Slocan Ramblers
Princes et Habitants by Yann Falquet & Pascal Gemme
Terre Rouge by Vishtèn
Un Canadien Errant by Fásta

Traditional Singer of the Year:

Rowen Gallant from Ten Strings And A Goat Skin Auprès du Poêle
Chaim Tannenbaum - Chaim Tannenbaum
Shannon Quinn - If All The Young Ladies
Yves Lambert from the Yves Lambert Trio Laissez courir les chiens
Sophie Lavoie from Fásta - Un Canadien Errant

Contemporary Album of the Year:

Empty Train by David Francey
Hobo Jungle Fever Dreams by Corin Raymond
Hope by The Strumbellas
Just Keep Moving by Big Little Lions
Hard Settle, Ain't Troubled by Donovan Woods

Contemporary Singer of the Year:

William Prince - Earthly Days
Matt Andersen Honest Man 
Jadea Kelly - Love & Lust
Megan Bonnell Magnolia
Danny Michel - Matadora

Instrumental Group of the Year:

The Andrew Collins Trio - And It Was Good
Tio Chorinho - Chora Brazil
Beppe Gambetta & Tony McManus Round Trip
The East Pointers - Secret Victory 

Instrumental Solo Artist of the Year:

Don Alder - Armed & Dangerous
Duane Andrews - Conception Bay
Daniel Koulack - Frailing To Succeed
Arnie Naiman - My Lucky Stars
Lotus Wight - Ode to the Banjo

Vocal Group of the Year:

Rosie & the Riveters Good Clean Fun!
Hillsburn - In the Battle Years
Musique à bouches - Jusqu'aux oreilles
Big Little Lions - Just Keep Moving
Sweet Alibi Walking In The Dark

No comments:

Post a Comment